Phenakite, Fluorapatite, and Smoky Quartz

Last week I received my order of three minerals from John Betts.  I placed the order primarily to get my first Phenakite  crystal and now I have one of the two applicable species for my Beryllium Suite.  The Phenakite specimen exhibits repeated twinning of the re-entrant faces on the termination, known colloquially as “drill-bit” twinning among collectors.  The crystal is from Mount Antero in Chaffee County, Colorado.

Be9.01 Phenakite
Photo by John Betts

The other two minerals were ordered as a bit of an afterthought.  I didn’t have Fluorapatite represented in my collection, so I figured it was about time to get a decent Calcium Phosphate for my Calcium Suite.  This rock hails from Emmons Quarry in Oxford County, Maine.

Ca8.3/4.01 Fluorapatite
Photo by John Betts

The last specimen is a floater crystal of Smoky Quartz, my eighth Quartz specimen overall.  The examples of this species I acquired earlier in the hobby are damaged, so I’ve been since obtaining perfect specimens.  This crystal is absolutely free of damage and doubly-terminated with that nice glassy earthen colour.  It’s from the Crystal Peak District in the Park-Teller Counties, Colorado.

Si9.4/7.08 Quartz var. Smoky
Photo by John Betts

Leave a Reply

